Skip to content

Tasting – Session IPA

09/05/2015

SessioIPA

I’m late to post testing and recipes, live has been busy and for a while I didn’t really feel like brewing (or drinking for that matter). Still, I managed to take a picture and notes of the session IPA that I made with Amarillo, Simcoe and Columbus. Not quite what I was hoping it to be, here are my thoughts :

Appearance : The beer was very cloudy at first and even with almost two months in the keg there is still some yeast in suspension. The colour is a nice coppery-orange and it pours with a voluminous thick head now that it has been thoroughly carbonated in the keg.

Smell : Oranges, peach (probably from the yeast) and slight pine. It doesn’t stand out like some of the small IPA’s that I’ve made with the same amount of hops.

Taste and mouthfeel : Pine, a note of caramel followed by a slight bitter bite. I think the IBU’s are well-balanced, any more bitterness in a beer this small would feel harsh. The taste is a bit “muted” in some way, I suspect that the yeast (Wyeast 1469) that’s still in suspension is to blame for that. The mouthfeel is on the thin side but not that I would call watery.

Notes/thoughts : I really didn’t like the fact  that Wyeast 1469 didn’t flocculate well and even with a lot time in the cold there was some yeast derived cloudiness in the beer. Most of the British yeasts that I have used flocculate really well and leave the beer crystal clear. I also think that the yeast flavours, especially the peach note, somehow clashed with this hop combination and the end result wasn’t as harmonious as some of the other Micro Ipa’s that I have fermented with British yeast strains. I decided to look for another “house strain” and poured the “seed” away.

The beer also wasn’t as aromatic that I was expecting but part of that might have to do with the age of the hops – even when sealed in vacuum barrier backs and frozen they eventually start losing their aroma. Once I go through my current stock I really have to start planning what and how much I buy more carefully.

Otherwise I think that the malt bill and hop schedule are very good for a session strength “IPA” and with a different yeast and fresher hops this recipe would result in a solid beer.

 

 

From → Tastings

2 Comments
  1. Cliff permalink

    Hi HaFuPi. You could fine the beer with gelatine which will drop the yeast out really well.
    Cheers -Cliff.

    • Hello Cliff and thanks for the comment. I did consider adding some gelatine when I kegged the beer but wanted to see how some time in the could would work with this yeast. As it turned out, it didn’t… I should try it at some point just to see if it affects the hop-character.

Leave a Reply

